Oscars 2022 - Will Smith, Jessica Chastain, CODA, Dune, Jane Campion win big

PUBLISHED DATE : 28/Mar/2022

Oscars 2022 - Will Smith, Jessica Chastain, CODA, Dune, Jane Campion win big

The 94th edition of the Academy Awards for Motion Pictures aka the Oscars 2022, took place on March 27, at the Oscars' traditional home at the Dolby Theatre at Ovation Hollywood. The ceremony was aired live and below is the list of complete set of winners from the event.


Apple movie CODA won Best Picture, Best adapted screenplay and Best supporting actor while Dune bagged all the major technical awards this year. Will Smith walked away with Best actor for King Richard though his altercation with Chris Rock, over the presenter's GI Jane-crack at Jada Pinkett Smith for her shaved head grabbed more attention.


Jessica Chastain won for The Eyes of Tammy Faye as did the movie's make-up and hairstyling team. Other notable wins this year were Kenneth Branaugh for best original screenplay (Belfast), Billie Eilish and her brother Finneas for best original song (No Time to Die title track), Encanto for best animated feature and Japanese film Drive My Car for best international film.

  • Best Picture - CODA (Apple Original Films)
  • Best Writing (Adapted Screenplay) - Siân Heder (CODA)
  • Best Actor in a Supporting Role - Troy Kotsur (CODA)

  • Best Actor in a Leading Role - Will Smith (King Richard)

  • Best Actress in a Leading Role - Jessica Chastain (The Eyes of Tammy Faye)
  • Best Makeup and Hairstyling - Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram, Justin Raleigh (The Eyes of Tammy Faye)

  • Best Writing (Original Screenplay) - Kenneth Branaugh (Belfast)

  • Best Actress in Supporting Role - Ariana Debose (West Side Story)

  • Best Animated Feature Film - Encanto

  • Best Music - Hans Zimmer (Dune)

  • Best Sound - Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Theo Green, Doug Hemphill, Ron Bartlett (Dune)
  • Best Cinematography - Greig Fraser (Dune)
  • Best Film Editing - Joe Walker (Dune)
  • Best Production Design - Patrice Vermette, Zsusanna Sipos (set decoration) (Dune)
  • Best VFX - Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Brian Connor, Gerd Nefzer (Dune)
  • Best Costume Design - Jenny Beaven (Cruella)

  • Best Directing - Jane Campion (The Power of the Dog)

  • Best Original Song - Billie Eilish, Finneas O Connel (No Time to Die)

  • Best International Feature Film - Drive My Car (Japan)

  • Best Short Film (Live Action) - The Long Goodbye
  • Best Short Film (Animated) - The Windshield Wiper
  • Best Documentary (Short Subject) - The Queen of Basketball
  • Best Documentary (Feature) - The Summer of Soul (..Or When the Revolution Could not be Televised)

User Comments